Shop Customizable Products on Zazzle


Attack on Titan Anime Review – Season 4 Episode 7 (#66)

WARNING: Contains spoilers. Written from the POV of a manga reader, so anime-only viewers please beware.

The other day my aunt called me to complain about my young cousin. “All that comes out of her mouth is ‘Who cares?’,” she grumbled. She thought I should talk to her daughter, who is in middle school, and try to convince her to say something else. I told my aunt it was just a phase, that sullen adolescent phase which she’ll outgrow by the by. Very soon she’ll be shouting, “Why the fuck don’t you care? How could you stand there and do nothing?” ala Greta Thunberg. Harrumph, said my aunt.

I mentioned this convo because sometimes, despite my progress in the age arena, I regress to that sullen “Who cares?” phase when it comes to manga and anime. One day I’m crying over a fictional character, the next day I couldn’t be bothered. There doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to this seesawing of emotions. So I just wait it out.

Today’s Wednesday, and I finally got over my I-don’t-give-a-fuck phase and got back to my I-do-care phase. But I’ve decided to stop trying to write decent reviews, which end up being half-assed anyway. I really am incapable of being a film critique. There are hundreds of other anime reviewers out there who go at it frame by frame, giving competent technical and artistic analyses of every aspect of the episode. I’d go mad if I were to do the same thing. So I decided to just put up my favourite scenes and either rant or rave about them. I’m not even going to compare the show to the manga, because I’ll just be finding discrepancies that upset me. 

Let the raving begin!

Levi “Don’t Die” Ackermann

Screencap from Season 4 Episode 7 (#66) of the anime “Shingeki no Kyojin” ⒸHajime Isayama/Kodansha Comics/Shingeki no Kyojin FINAL SEASON Production Team. Aired January 25, 2021 on NHK G channel.

Aww, isn’t this scene of Captain Levi leading the Scouts utterly heartwarming? It’s so good to see our precious heichou with all ten fingers and unscarred face. I miss this whole Levi so very much in the manga. 

The Sniper

Screencap from Season 4 Episode 7 (#66) of the anime “Shingeki no Kyojin” ⒸHajime Isayama/Kodansha Comics/Shingeki no Kyojin FINAL SEASON Production Team. Aired January 25, 2021 on NHK G channel.

Lovely Sasha! She’s so gorgeous in this scene: the expert markswoman, the crackshot, sniper extraordinaire. In her fighting form, she’s not just a pretty face but badass as they come. 

Never Enough Jean

Speaking of badass, Jean had some great scenes in this episode. Like him sliding on a roof creating sparks with the thunder spear:

—— AD - CONTINUE READING BELOW ——
Shop Customizable Gifts on Zazzle

Screencap from Season 4 Episode 7 (#66) of the anime “Shingeki no Kyojin” ⒸHajime Isayama/Kodansha Comics/Shingeki no Kyojin FINAL SEASON Production Team. Aired January 25, 2021 on NHK G channel.

There are only a couple of readers who plow through these shitty reviews of mine, I know who they are and they’re both Jean stans. So in celebration of all things Jean, here’s another screencap of Jean solo:

Screencap from Season 4 Episode 7 (#66) of the anime “Shingeki no Kyojin” ⒸHajime Isayama/Kodansha Comics/Shingeki no Kyojin FINAL SEASON Production Team. Aired January 25, 2021 on NHK G channel.

(Cue Stevie Wonder) Isn’t he loooooovely? Isn’t he wooooonderfuuuuul? Isn’t he precioooooous?  

And another:

Screencap from Season 4 Episode 7 (#66) of the anime “Shingeki no Kyojin” ⒸHajime Isayama/Kodansha Comics/Shingeki no Kyojin FINAL SEASON Production Team. Aired January 25, 2021 on NHK G channel.

Sweet Jean Kirschtein. I love him so, so very much! He couldn’t bear to shoot at a child, so Falco standing in front of Pieck made him miss the shot. Deliberately. Imagine what would’ve happened if he killed both Pieck and Falco. Really glad he didn’t, though, because it’s Falco and his flying Jaw Titan that would save them at the near end of the story.

In the Airship

Screencap from Season 4 Episode 7 (#66) of the anime “Shingeki no Kyojin” ⒸHajime Isayama/Kodansha Comics/Shingeki no Kyojin FINAL SEASON Production Team. Aired January 25, 2021 on NHK G channel.

One of the best ever scenes in this episode is Hange with Onyankopon inside the Zeppelin. I adore the airship details that went into this frame. It’s wonderful to see Hange at last, and meet Onyan for the first time! 

—— AD - CONTINUE READING BELOW ——
Shop Customizable Gifts on Zazzle

Down Below

Screencap from Season 4 Episode 7 (#66) of the anime “Shingeki no Kyojin” ⒸHajime Isayama/Kodansha Comics/Shingeki no Kyojin FINAL SEASON Production Team. Aired January 25, 2021 on NHK G channel.

Another screencap of Jean & Co, because why not? Love his dialogue here: Just in time, he says. Ahh, that voice of his! 

(Cue Michael Jackson)  I just can’t stop loving yooooooou, I just can’t stop loving yooooooou, and if I stop then tell me just what will I dooooooo? 

The Nutcracker

The most incredible scene in this episode, and one in which the animators really took their time to show, is the Attack Titan using the Jaw as a nutcracker to crush the Warhammer and send her spinal fluids straight into his mouth. The swallowing action was awesome, and along with the music made this moment truly memorable.

Screencap from Season 4 Episode 7 (#66) of the anime “Shingeki no Kyojin” ⒸHajime Isayama/Kodansha Comics/Shingeki no Kyojin FINAL SEASON Production Team. Aired January 25, 2021 on NHK G channel.

Too bad we know next to nothing about the Warhammer Titan. She was just devoured but I guess no one’s crying because we were never given her backstory. All we know is she’s a member of the Tybur family, possibly Willy’s younger sister. I wish Isayama-sensei took his time to flesh out every one of the titan shifters.

No Time to Die

Gabi and Falco scream their hearts out, begging Reiner to save Porco. He says one of his most iconic lines: “Why can’t you just leave me to die?” But he does wake up, and does transform. Along with Armin transforming into the Colossus and destroying the ports, we get several transformations in just one episode and they are all awesome.

—— AD - CONTINUE READING BELOW ——
Shop Customizable Gifts on Zazzle

Screencap from Season 4 Episode 7 (#66) of the anime “Shingeki no Kyojin” ⒸHajime Isayama/Kodansha Comics/Shingeki no Kyojin FINAL SEASON Production Team. Aired January 25, 2021 on NHK G channel.

I loved the action sequences, and was stoked to see all the other new faces. The next episode will be utterly heartbreaking, so it’s nice to be able to enjoy the battle scenes while everyone’s still alive.

Oh, BTW, in case you’re wondering about the dog visuals I made for this review. It’s an homage to Frederick Forsythe’s 1974 spy thriller, The Dogs of War. Needless to say, he wasn’t talking about dogs in the literal sense. 

Can you tell who is who amongst the cutie pie creatures? Counterclockwise from top: Queen Historia (I miss her, and she knew about the Liberio attack, so there), Eren (guarding her, of course), Armin, Jean (picked a dog with the same color hair, hehe!), Mikasa, Falco, Gabi, Levi (sitting on a red cushion like the king he is), and Hange in her trademark spectacles. What do you think? 🙂

Thank you so much for reading! What did you think of this anime episode? Please take a moment to share a thought or two in the comment section below. xoxo – hana

Next – Season 4 Episode 8

Back – Season 4 Episode 6

Leaving a comment is the best way to help this blog grow. If you’d much rather tip than comment, please use the jar below. Any kind of help is very much appreciated!

Click to tip
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
13 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
kriss

totally agree mappa did a great job with the nutcracker scene my fav devouring moment so far in the anime

kriss

yep theres no such thing as too much jean love your screencaps hes gorgeous indeed

kriss

ohhhhhh look at all those adorable doggos cuteness overload awwwwwing so much imma gonna malfunction love the eren doberman so on point

myri

ps. that little thread with photos of jean is appreciated *turn on the air conditioner*

myri

these montages were my favorites! i couldn’t help but laugh when i saw them, they really made my day! xD i love that levi is a small french bulldog, with my sister we have one in córdoba and they are really adorable! 🙂

regarding the reviews, do not pressure yourself to make complex analyzes of each thing. i really like it when it is that relaxed, i feel as if i were reading a friend 😃

btw, i really liked the chapter. the scene of eren drinking lara tybur’s blood will stay in my mind for the rest of my life 🤯🤯

right now i’m getting ready for next sunday, i’ll be crying for sasha but defending gabi at the same time. call me intense but i hate it when some people mess with a twelve year old girl who was manipulated her whole life. gabi is the reflection of eren but many do not like to read that or simply do not accept it. xD

MimiSun95

You have a totally right there. I can’t say anything but Falco is brave character,

MimiSun95

I wish for him the same.

31
0
Would love to hear your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x